They got to them!

My youngest grandchildren came to visit me for a week this summer. They are 5 and 7. I tried to keep them busy with crafts, trips to the park, and swimming. I even bought a Slip-n-Slide for them to use in the backyard. They brought with them their Nintendo DS and games. I allowed them to use my laptop for games on PBSKids.com. Still in this age of over-stimulation, they were bored sometimes. I resorted to TV. At home they don’t have cable. Netflix is where they go for their entertainment. I don’t have that. I tuned them into Nickelodeon and Cartoon Network with a little PBS thrown in.

OMG! They about run their little legs ragged coming up the stairs from the family room to tell me what toy they just saw on TV that they want for Christmas! Netflix doesn’t have commercials. This was their first exposure to the bombardment of toy advertisements on regular tv. It was fun to see the excitement in their eyes as they explained what the toy was and how fun it would be. Their voices became louder and louder with each new discovery, not to mention how confusing it got for me when they did this at the same time. lol

So I did what I could to calm it down. I bought the Lego movie and the current ice princess movie and plugged them into those instead of regular tv. How many times can a kid watch the same movie over and over? Endless it seems. Now I can’t get “Let It Go” out of my head.

One thought on “They got to them!

  1. stephensmustang1

    You handled things really well. It’s great that they are having less technology, no advertisements, etc. A lot of people around here are going to Netflix b/c it’s cheaper (much) that cable. We have netflix–yep it’s old stuff but still very much enjoyable.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

