August 31 Why should I celebrate it?

ImageI’ll never forget August 31, 1997. That was such a sad day in many respects. I was in another state staying with my dad in a big city hospital after his colon surgery. We siblings took turns staying in his room while the rest were given cots to camp out in a commons area overnight. Mine was near the elevators, and for the most part I was so physically and emotionally overloaded that I slept despite of the foot traffic. I had no idea what was going on in the outside world. On September 1, a Sunday morning, my sister and her husband stepped out of the elevator and came right to my cot. “Princess Di died last night.” My sister is a great story teller and jokester. I said, “And…?” thinking there would be a punch line to come. She repeated her statement and included, “It was a car accident in Paris!” Oh my. Maybe it was my fragile emotional state, but this information hit me like a ton of bricks. The rest of the day any of us who weren’t with Dad spent their respite in their cars in the parking lot listening to the news on the radio.

In May of 2011, I attended a museum display in Kansas City devoted to Princess Diana’s life. There were childhood pictures and actual toys she liked. All the dresses she wore to world events and drew so many photographers to her were encased in glass cases. Then there was this one. Breathtaking!

Image

Image

ImageThis event stays in my mind so vividly, just like when I heard JFK, RFK, MLK, and Elvis died. Maybe it is the shock that cements these in my mind.

So moving on to August 31 in a much lighter note, it is International Bacon Day!! Who doesn’t like bacon? So go make some delicious recipe that includes bacon today in celebration. I’m thinking maybe that broccoli salad with bacon bits, raisins, and sunflower seeds. But then again, this particular dish really caught my eye!

ImageHmm… I wonder how many days until we start having those crisp, fall nights? Not here anytime soon. We are supposed to have 101 degrees today. I’m so over summer!

One thought on “August 31 Why should I celebrate it?

Leave a Reply

